What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

A very lucky pilot! (LI Iron Battery)

Wow..

Simply astonishing. I was considering Aerovoltz battery after reading some favorable comments on LiFePo batteries on VAF. Now there is no way ...

I cant tell if the OP is the original author of the linked pdf. Since this happened in March I wonder if the manufacturer has a comment about this incident. No mention of whether they wanted the battery back to investigate the cause.

I am not the author. It would have expected the manufacturer to have requested the battery back and try and determine the cause. I have no knowledge if that has happened.

George

It looks bad, but is consistent with other conclusions from VAF threads - put it in a stainless steel box and vent overboard. At least it did not burst into flames. And take an airplane with it.

Now the discussion about what set it off. . .

edit: I stand corrected on the flames -after landing and exposing, it did have flames. I was referring to a burst cell case where the contents violently spewed gas, liquid and flames. This post was a bit tongue in cheek as I have posted previously that just because it has IRON in it (alone), does not make it safe. It can still have an exotherm, as exhibited here. The LiFePh chemistries have a lower peak exotherm temperature that allows case containment, but is still over 300C. I still don't believe we have a reliable installation and management procedure, short of the sealed, vented overboard, stainless battery box.

Last edited:
It looks bad, but is consistent with other conclusions from VAF threads - put it in a stainless steel box and vent overboard. At least it did not burst into flames. And take an airplane with it.

Now the discussion about what set it off. . .