What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Things you do because you you've done it that way before.

claycookiemonster

Well Known Member
I remember very early in my time here, as a very newbie builder, I was an absolute sponge for any hints from the experienced builders. There was a thread about the right color of sharpie for marking things, believe it or not! Anyway, the consensus was that Blue was the best marker color. I ran out and bought a couple boxes of Blue Sharpies, and I'm still using them!

I was just wondering what other shop habits, or good luck operations you may have carried on over the course of your build, just because you've done it that way before.

And, YES, my RV will actually be painted blue. I'm sure there's no connection.

Reactions: pjc
Building
I don’t cut on the line. I cut just short of the line and hand file to the line. I know it takes a lot of extra time but I still do it because I always have.
Drilled holes at #40 then drilled up for those that were 1/8” rivets to #30. Nobody does that anymore I am sure as nobody is drilling holes.
Put tools away at end of every work session. Spent hours looking for a wrench the next day once so now always put everything away even if in the middle of a task.
Flying
Pull the prop through full revolution during preflight. Seems to be help starting when I was having starting issues years ago so always still do it.

FYI. I use black sharpie for cutting and red sharpie for other markings that are not cuts like hole spacing and folds and bends.

Last edited:
The best/most important hint I can give is do not use black electrical tape when you install your windscreen. It disappears in the black-dyed epoxy you use for the first couple of fiberglas layers. :eek: Use yellow, blue, red . . . any color but black. Ask me how I found out.