VansAirForceForums  
Home > VansAirForceForums

-POSTING RULES
-Advertise in here!
- Today's Posts | Insert Pics

Keep VAF Going
Donate methods

Point your
camera app here
to donate fast.

  #11  
Old 03-23-2021, 06:01 PM
Carl Froehlich's Avatar
Carl Froehlich Carl Froehlich is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Dogwood Airpark (VA42)
Posts: 2,951
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BobRV7 View Post
I also would like some more info on the switch as I'm installing a Garmin GTR-200 com/intercom as a stand alone com 2. I don't like putting 4 extra head set plugs in.
Get the Dynon radio instead of the GTR-200. I find the Dynon radio to be far superior to the GTR-200 after ferrying an RV-14 that had that as Comm #2. Comm #1 was a GTN-650.

Carl
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 03-24-2021, 10:31 AM
Mark Dickens's Avatar
Mark Dickens Mark Dickens is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Collierville, TN (KFYE)
Posts: 1,462
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wirejock View Post
Any chance of a schematic and switch part numbers?
Whoops, just seeing this. As I recall, I bought a DPDT On/On/On switch which I had to source from a guitar parts vendor. I believe it was this one: https://www.stewmac.com/electronics/...-switches.html. Basically, the stereo outputs of each com are connected to the outer switch connections and the stereo inputs to the intercom were connected to the inner two connections. What this does is when the switch is placed in the middle position, it allows audio from both coms to feed into the intercom. When the switch is placed in either of the other two positions, it feeds audio from only one com into the intercom. Make sense?

The only negative to my scheme is that you have to make sure that your transmit switch matches your audio switch (or in the both position) else you can find yourself transmitting on one com and listening on the other. That can lead to embarrassment or worse. I've done it once so far.
__________________
RV-8 #81077 Super Slow Build
Dynon Skyview HDX, Titan IOX-370, Dual P-Mags, AFP FM200A FI, Whirlwind 200RV CS Prop
First Flight 11/20/2016
https://www.marksrv8.com
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 03-24-2021, 10:36 AM
BobRV7 BobRV7 is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Loveland, Co
Posts: 140
Default

Thanks Carl but already have it mounted just , My GRT horizon 10.1 can't use the GTR-200 because of GTR-200 SW, just got it for a stand alone Com/ intercom backup. The Garmin GTR-200 is also an intercom so I needed both as a backup. Dynon's coms only work on the SkyViews so couldn't those. I hope I didn't make a big mistake on the 200, already found the shell for the wire connectors is something I didn't like. Don't know who would designed that.
__________________
Bob Eggleston
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 04-15-2021, 09:27 AM
CPFowler CPFowler is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Location: MCKINNEY
Posts: 2
Default Will this work?

I have been following this thread and thinking about this. I am a ways away from needing this as I am working on slow build RV-14. I am a retired airline and retired fighter pilot.
Will it work to wire a second push to talk switch on the stick? So com 1 transmit would be the trigger and com 2 transmit would be a seldom used lower pinky switch on the stick. No panel switches, simple Dynon intercom, volume control on individual radios. In fighters, it was a 2 position mic switch, down for com 1 up for com 2.
My plan for the stick is: cooly hat trim switch, com 1 transmit on trigger, com 2 transmit on lower pinky push to talk, and autopilot disconnect on thumb switch.
Having very little general aviation experience, is this workable? Practical? Not overly complex for wiring?
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 04-15-2021, 09:40 AM
Carl Froehlich's Avatar
Carl Froehlich Carl Froehlich is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Dogwood Airpark (VA42)
Posts: 2,951
Default

You still need a switch to transfer the mic input from Comm #1 to Comm #2. A simple DPDT toggle switch on the panel is the simple way to switch both mic and PTT inputs.

Use the extra stick switch to toggle between the active and standby freq on Comm #1.

Carl
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 04-15-2021, 09:48 AM
SMRacer's Avatar
SMRacer SMRacer is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Leesburg, VA
Posts: 595
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rockitdoc View Post
Trying to decide if I need the SV-INTERCOM-2S in my panel. What does it add?

If you have a single Dynon com radio, this intercom is a nice inexpensive unit to install. But if you have two radios, I don't think you will be happy with the hassles of managing both radios from this intercom by adding external switching.

I am considering adding a second radio in my RV8, by installing the PS Engineering PAR-200B audio panel/com (I think they use the same remote Trig transceiver as the Dynon radio), and eliminating the Dynon intercom. I will admit that running a second Dynon through the Dynon intercom is probably the least expensive alternative.
__________________
Jim
Leesburg, VA (KJYO)
RV4 N444JT (sold)
RV8 N37PK
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:19 PM.


The VAFForums come to you courtesy Delta Romeo, LLC. By viewing and participating in them you agree to build your plane using standardized methods and practices and to fly it safely and in accordance with the laws governing the country you are located in.