What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

RV 10 or 14

Cholley6

Ok, so here?s where I am. I am a recent private pilot, I bought a 172k about 6 months ago to finish up and figure out what I wanted to fly and how my mission would be. I am still in the process of figuring this out, but I think I?m wanting to start either the RV 10 or the RV 14 in the next year. As of now I think the majority of my flying time will be either just me or maybe with one other person. But, my wife?s family lives elsewhere and we currently have a 2 year old and another on the way shortly. The 172 will work well for us for a while but let?s face it, it?s a 50 year old airframe that I have to hire someone else to do everything to and it?s not nearly as fast. I think there is a good chance that my wife and I have more children so that bumps me out of the 10 anyway. I guess I?m trying to decide if I just build the 10 so that I can haul more, or go with the 14 and try to buy a share or rent a 206 or equivalent 6 seater for the few trips per year I need extra seats. Business does not take me far away very often. I know I?m not the only one that has had this dilemma so I?m wondering what has worked well for others. Also I would like to try and find a ride in both the 10 and 14 before I commit to a build. I live in NE Louisiana and I?m looking for excuses to make cross country?s. Thanks for the opinions I?m hoping will follow.

If you have the means to buy a 172 and you have access to other planes for rent, I think you need to stop and think about what you really have time for and whether you are in the right place to spend the next 2-5 years in the garage / hangar working.