What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Any RVators want to show off?

RVScooter

Hi all

I'm fairly new to flying in general with only a handfull of hours in a Skyhawk under my belt, but I've been hooked. One of the instructors told me about Vans and after lots of online research I want to build one, but it would be a good idea to see one in person before I make the commitment to build one. Is there anyone in the southern New England area with an RV they would like to show off? Especially if there are any -8s in the area I would love to see them up close.

I am in the same situation.....just a couple hours but the choice of planes is clear! Your going down the right track...find some in the area and go up for a spin! You won't regret it.

I flew an RV-4 for just a few minutes and it was so nice! I don't have near the experience as most on here so take that for what it's worth but I am getting closer to pulling the trigger on my build!

Good luck!

Andy:D

Greg and Andy have came to the right place!

I am glad I started out in a 172 and got a few "slow" xc trips under my belt before hopping in the -10(after 5.8 hrs of transition trng). Learn a lot about weather and ensure you budget to keep your flying skills up at least once every month. They are a blast to fly, 3-4 times faster and cheaper on fuel than my SUV. The only disadvantage I have found is that many pilots assume I am just another one of those "cowboy experimental RV guys".

Caution!

Watch out for that Knobil guy, he is trouble. He is responsible for more than one RV convert, including me! Stay well clear I tell you.

Greg and Andy have came to the right place!