What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

FAA Definition of 'Solo'

Scott Will

Well Known Member
Getting ready to take my multi checkride tomorrow (PVT add-on). In tidying up my logbook and getting the FAA form ready, what is the FAA definition of Solo?

My interpretation is that it is time logged when flying alone before you have a rating for that aircraft category/class. Such as when you were a student pilot out on solo hops before you took the PP-ASEL checkride.

But why then do all the big fancy logbooks such as Jepp's Professional Pilot Logbook have column for Solo? My first logbook, like many of yours, is the small ASA "Standard Pilot Log". It didn't have a column for solo. My instructor at the time I was a private student said I should log the time as PIC. Which makes sense per this:

If you are a student, recreational, private or commercial pilot, you may log PIC any time you are the only person in the aircraft. [61.51(e)(1)(ii) and 61.51(e)(4)]

This means that even without category and class ratings, you may log PIC time if you are solo. In addition to the obvious (student solo), it also means, for example, that if you are rated ASEL and solo in an AMEL or ASES, you may log the time as PIC.

Or do ya'll log solo time if it's just you in the airplane (and log it as PIC as well)?

My understanding is solo means the sole occupant of the aircraft. I don't remember anything about ratings being involved.

The rules changed about 10 years or so. Prior to the change, you couldn't log PIC time prior to having your ticket, even though you were the sole manipulator of the controls...thus "solo" time. After the change, solo time prior to getting your ticket could be logged as PIC, so the "solo" column in most logbooks became superfluous.

At least that's my take on it!

FAR part 61.51(d) Logging of solo flight time.

.........when the pilot is the sole occupant of the aircraft.

Thanks!