What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Jet-Glo Paint-- Great Product!

RV6ARoger

:) EVERYONE--- Please see Jamie's post dated 1/20 at 8:34 PM. He is hosting this file for me and you can download it there in a Zipped format. It got just too much to try and email it to everyone who requested it. So, if you have not received it from me yet, Go to Jamies website and download it.This summer I repainted my RV-6A with Jet-Glo. I used their entire process from the green corrosion primer through the gray sandable primer right up through their color coats.

I am not an expert painter, and I found the paint very easy to work with. It is very forgiving, and a duffer like me can get a pro-shop quality job with a little attention to detail. The gloss is amazing!

The primers go on just like almost any other primer, but the top coats are a little different. You need to put a heavy first coat on, not a dust coat like some other paints.

If anyone is interested, I am a tech counselor and I have created a PowerPoint presentation on this paint process. I am not an expert at painting, but there is enough information here to make it worthwhile to view. I am willing to email this to seriously interested parties who will be painting their planes themselves. I certainly would consider this paint system. It is not inexpensive by any means, but as with most things in life, you get what you pay for. This might be a good source of a program for an EAA chapter meeting. All I ask is that you don't change it and give me credit for it. That's only fair, right?

Last edited:
DIY Painting

Thanks for the review, and the offer to share your experiences.

Please email me as well... many thanks.

mustang at daedalusaircraft dot com

John W.
RV-7A Empennage
Cuyler Airpark (FD27)