What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Flame Retardant Clothing

Tumper

Well Known Member
Has anyone seen this before? Wrangler makes flame retardant clothing. They call it their Wrangler Flame Retardant FR collection. They make ?FR? jeans, shirts, fleeces and jackets. They look like fairly normal clothes (except the price).

I know some people like to wear Nomex and I am no safety expert but this might be an option for those folks.

If you go to wrangler dot com and search FR you can find the clothing. Maybe there are more vendors that produce ?normal? looking flame retardant clothing I am not sure. Their web site gives some ASTM and OSHA references but I would have to do some research to understand this.

Most of the flame retardant clothing I've ever worn is hot, heavy, doesn't breath, and is scratchy. I wonder if they've solved any of these issues?

I work on drilling rigs in the oil and gas industry. Fire retardant clothing, "FRC's", are required on just about any operation in the oilfield including my drilling rig. Although they used to be very primitive and uncomfortable, FRC's have come a long ways in the last few years. Our western wear stores in the Midland-Odessa area carry a huge line of FRC's. I wear the wrangler relaxed fit FRC jeans and a FRC long sleave shirt or t-shirt at work. They are just about as comfortable as regular clothes and everyone working around me has gotten used to wearing them. Be aware, a pair of jeans are about 50.00, and the shirts are from 50 to 100.:eek:

anyone compare the specs?????

I read the label on the local work warehouse FRC stuff, and it has a little graph that shows that it has far superior protection to Nomex in several categories.
What I found odd was that the lightweight shirt & jeans had the same rating as the obviously 5 times thicker lined coveralls.....
....what gives?