What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

RV-8 Insurance Question

tgraytn

A couple of questions regarding insurance:

1.) Is there any type of insurance that is available while a kit is being built? I plan to get contents coverage for my shop but was curious if there is anything else that would cover it for things such as fire, theft, tornado etc.

2.) I am currently a low time pilot (53 total hours) with no tail wheel endorsement, however I do plan to add this while I'm building my kit. In the event that I am not able to do so before my kit is complete, does anyone have any idea if I can get coverage and also what the approximate premium would be? Just throwing this out to see if "anyone else is in my shoes" and have approached an insurance provider.

Many thanks and Merry Christmas!!

Tom

1. Builders insurance (not in motion) is available. Call Nationair or other broker that deals with Experimentals. Cost seems to be about 0.7-0.8% of stated value, per year.

2. If you do not have a tailwheel endorsement you cannot be PIC in an -8, so of course no one will insure you for that. Although there was a recent rule change, I think it is still prohibited for you to get dual in your plane during your phase one test period. Call Nationair and ask them about the cost for a 100 hour total, 10 hours tailwheel (assumes you rent a plane and get the endorsement) pilot. Be prepared to be shocked.

Last edited:
1. Builders insurance (not in motion) is available. Call Nationair or other broker that deals with Experimentals. Cost seems to be about 0.7-0.8% of stated value, per year.