What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Build Differences from RV-6 to RV-7

skelrad

Well Known Member
Friend
I understand that the RV7 kits are produced differently than the old RV6 kits, but I'm not really sure what that means in the end to a builder. I've seen a number of barely started complete RV6 kits for sale for thousands less (like $10k) than a complete RV7 kit. I've always assumed I would just buy a 7 kit, but that's a pretty significant cost difference, so I'm kicking around the idea of going with a second-hand 6 kit now.

I know that the 7 is a more modern kit, in terms of it's CNC accuracy and the plans. What I don't know is how that really impacts a builder. Can someone explain to me how the build of one vs the other will change? I've heard all of the jargon about matched-hole drilling thrown around, but since I've never built a plane before, the reality of what that means for a day in the workshop is lost on me. :confused:

Save the money on a 6 kit and have a "tougher" build, or go with the newer 7 kit? That is the question.

Brandon

RV 6 or 7 kit

The major difference is the match drilled parts along with a different center section. This gives the 7 a higher gross wt. and a quicker build time. You don't need a jig for the fuselage as with a 6. It's like everything else you either spend the time or the money, your choice.
Walt....RV-6A