What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Guide me about build challenges between RV7 vs R14 and time constraints

Bibrak

I'm New Here
Hi,

I am deciding on which RV kit to start building. RV7 and RV14 are ones that best suit my mission.

I am an international student and I have gotten some of American culture in me now that is homebuilding. The situation is such that I may have about 4 years from now till I leave the USA, no more. I want to build my plane while I am in the USA.

What I have read is that RV14 is much easier to build than RV7. How much I dont know? And I would like your guidance on this.

RV7 is quite reasonable in my budget being a student and later when I graduate I might have the opportunity for the 3 years of work permit and then I will be gone to my country. So I want to use these 3 years from now (with some limited budget) and then from mid 2022 to 2025 to build the plane incrementally.

So, we have some time constraints and some budget. Which is the more reasonable approach going with RV7 or RV14. Is RV7 that challenging as compared to RV14?

Thanks

7 vs 14

Not challenging. The 14 is just more complete. Prepunched holes are final size. There is less fabrication. However, it costs a little more.
For comparison. I've helped two builders get started. One is flying. The other will probably fly before I finish my 7A. I could be slow too. :D

Thanks Mike!

wirejock --> nice project going on there wth 3000+ hours. One day I will be there too...

kit availability

I think you will enjoy building either kit - they are both awesome as are even the "older" kits. One thing to check from Van's is the kit availability - it seems like some parts have quite a long lead time. Might be a factor.