What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

RV7a Ram air intake or not?

Hi all I'm a newbie on here and a newbie to the RV world.
I'm looking to purchase an rv7 or rv7a, I have noticed that some have the ram air intake and some do not.
In the case of one aircraft an RV7a, it has the io 360 fuel injected M1B with the horizontal induction. I'm told it doesn't need the ram air intake
Is this correct?
Are there any disadvantages with this type of set up?
My flights will be 4 to 7 hours long in north west Queensland area
your advice would be greatly appreciated :)

You must have some wicked thermals there to keep a -7 up for seven hours; to say nothing of your bladder. :)

Ram air is thought to provide more manifold pressure versus the snorkel but it may depend on having the cold-air sump from Superior.

Aesthetics do it for me. I think the smooth cowl looks so much better I don't care about any performance difference - if there is any.

Here is a thread that Ram Air Measurement was measured and it was greater.

http://www.vansairforce.com/community/showthread.php?t=136615&highlight=ram+air

I remember a TEST done on an RV-7 with a STOCK 200 HP Angle Valve Lycoming that had both Van's Snorkle and unfiltered Ram air that used a valve that did not allow the Ram air to escape out the snorkle. This was 10 years ago in SoCAL but from what I remember, there was more manifold pressure with the RAM air.

IIRC, the increase over the snorkle may not be worth the effort of the extra work required if one is not going to be racing.

Here is a thread that Ram Air Measurement was measured and it was greater.

http://www.vansairforce.com/community/showthread.php?t=136615&highlight=ram+air