What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

New guy and potential -10 builder!

Navy_flyer

I'm New Here
Hello all,

New to the community although I’ve been researching airplanes to buy for years. I just can’t seem to justify spending a couple hundred grand on a certified aircraft that will be a project and to some extent “unknown” since a rod could be thrown or a case cracked at any time putting me out 50k for an engine swap. With that said, I think I’ve settled on an RV-10 for my family of 4 (two babies). I guess my concerns are how long the project will take to build and really how much experience or inclination you need to have as a builder. While I got a degree in aerospace engineering many years ago, I’m basically next to useless with my hands in terms of home or car repair, but I’m smart enough to learn when I need to. If things go my way and I get the orders I want next (in the Navy), then I’ll be set to buy the first (empennage) kit and tools/prep equipment this summer. If my wife moves ahead of me to get settled, I’m hoping to have at least a few months where I’ll be able to put in 2-4 hours a day of work into the kit. If I can knock out the empennage kit in that time (300-400 hours), I’m hoping the QB fuse/wing kits will really accelerate the project at my next stop. Is it realistic to have a -10 ready to start within 3 years if I can knock out 300-400 hours of work on the empennage kit in a few months and then QB kits after that? I am also all ears on recommendations, advice, and tips for a new builder! I really like learning from others’ mistakes. :)

EDIT: are there any RV-10 owners willing to indulge a ride in San Antonio or New Orleans?

Thanks all for the input on my ramblings!
-Josh

Last edited:
EAA building course

Hi Josh,