What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Go Arounds

SamF

I'm New Here
I am new to RV Flying. I recently bought an RV-4 and got local transition training from a local RV Pilot. So far so good, but I'm wondering a few things and thought I'd get some input before I tried them.

My transition instructor cautioned against doing a go-around on bounced landings, I mean like pretty big bounces. He said that trying to fly away from that low of airspeed would likely result in an extreme nose up climb out flying with excessive angle of attack and you might not have power to "fly out of it" meaning you would continue to struggle into the air at very high angle of attack, very high drag, and maybe not be successful in flying the plane out of this "minimum controllable airspeed" configuration and get it "up on plane", as in higher airspeed and lower angle of attack. He felt there was a considerable risk of struggling 50 or 100 feet into the air only to eventually stall and fall to the ground, much worse than the bounce would have been.

Is this thought by others to be true? Will an RV-4 (O-320 with C/S prop in my case) readily fly away from a bad bounced landing or is that indeed risky as described above. Of course you have the issue of getting the flaps up before you overspeed them, so that complicates the matter some, trying to retract flaps and not give up the little altitude you have.