What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Measure 10 times, cut once

Av8torTom

Well Known Member
Hello All,

I'm getting ready to make the cuts in the forward side skin for the tipper canopy latch mechanism on my 9A. Before I slice into my baby, can someone please double check the positioning of my template for the cuts?

I've lined-up the top "holes" on the template with the top row of rivets, and positioned the top left hole 48 9/16" forward of the aft edge of the forward side skin.

Thanks,

Tom

Hey Fellow 9A Dude. I will measure mine in the morning if you want. It is always freaky cutting into perfectly good aluminum skins.

Im working on all the stuff I have no experience with now (engine & wiring) and spend a LOT of time just staring at the plane. Ugh!

I built a 7A, not a 9, but I will tell you that I probably agonized more over that cut/drill operation than just about anything else on the plane. The thought of screwing up a *perfectly good* skin after the untold hours getting the fuselage to that state sent me into a serious case of paralysis by analysis. I measured and measured and measured, taped the template in place, measured about 20 more times, and looked at it for *weeks* before my buddy finally said "CUT THE DAMNED THING!"

It all came out perfectly. Just take your time with the initial drilling (undersize!) and then carefully file to final shape. Don't get in a hurry with the file, take your time, measure often, and then..."CUT THE DAMNED THING!" :)

Last edited:
Tom, send me email and I will send you pictures. After looking at it again, I don't think it is really that critical where it goes. You can make the rod longer or shorter to make it work. My email is at the bottom.