What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

RV7 slider rear skirt tolerance?

JurgenRoeland

Well Known Member
Hi all,

I'm working on the rear canopy lock blocks and you can only drill these when the height of the canopy rear vs top fuselage skin is defined.
So I'm finetuning the height of the rear canopy at the sliding track.
I already decided that I would not go with the aluminum skirts but make a custom epoxy rear skirt.
I have never worked with epoxy before and was wondering how much height difference you can hide and work away using the epoxy method.

The rear of my canopy sits about half to full the thickness of the canopy over the center of the top fuselage skin (so higher).
Passed the 45° point toward the bottom of the canopy along the rear frame, the canopy sits in both sides about 7/32 inch below the extended line of the top fuselage skin at the sides.
On the low point, of the canopy frame, the sides of the frame nicely match the sides of the fuselage as required for the side skirts and the alignment of canopy lowercorner with the top fuselage skin is reasonably close.

If I lower the canopy, the gap on the sides becomes obviously even bigger.
If I raise the canopy, the gap gets slightly smaller but I get much higher above the center of the top fuselage skin.

Should I leave my position as is which means I would have to work away 7/32inch on the sides. Is that possible with epoxy and will it still look ok ?

thanks in advance for the advise

Jurgen

Last edited:
Jurgen,