VansAirForceForums  
Home > VansAirForceForums

-POSTING RULES
-Advertise in here!
- Today's Posts | Insert Pics

Keep VAF Going
w/a Donation






VAF on Twitter:
@VansAirForceNet

  #1  
Old 07-03-2022, 04:53 AM
TASEsq TASEsq is online now
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 610
Default Tosten cs-8 sticks.

Hi,

Has anyone installed the tosten cs8 using the factory sticks without the grips hitting the bottom of the panel?

Do you need to get the tosten sticks? $100 is ok but shipping down here is the killer due to the weight.
__________________
___________
Trent Stewart
Melbourne, Australia
http://www.tasrv14.blogspot.com.au/
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-03-2022, 05:39 AM
RV6-KPTW RV6-KPTW is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Sebastian Fl X26
Posts: 258
Default

My tosten stick barely hits the panel as it gets to full stick forward. The elevator has hit the stops just before. Thought about doing something about it but not sure what it would achieve.
__________________
Dennis Callaghan (X26)
- RV14 sn:140193 - Awesome airplane!
- RV10 build in process
- donation 11/17/2022
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-03-2022, 05:39 AM
ShortSnorter ShortSnorter is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: NOLA
Posts: 385
Default

I originally went with cs8 but couldnít make it work even with the offset bushings. I opted for the military grip sans the bells and whistles and still had to use he offset bushings to keep from hitting the throttle and switches. I suggest giving Kevin a call to talk it over. He was beyond accommodating and even did an exchange and re-wire at no charge.
__________________
Ryan
RV-14 In-Progress
Build Site
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-03-2022, 09:55 AM
Mike S's Avatar
Mike S Mike S is offline
Senior Curmudgeon
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Dayton Airpark, NV A34
Posts: 16,860
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ShortSnorter View Post
I suggest giving Kevin a call to talk it over. He was beyond accommodating and even did an exchange and re-wire at no charge.
Second that----Kevin is the best.
__________________
Mike Starkey
VAF 909

Rv-10, N210LM.

Flying as of 12/4/2010

Phase 1 done, 2/4/2011

Sold after 240+ wonderful hours of flight.

"Flying the airplane is more important than radioing your plight to a person on the ground incapable of understanding or doing anything about it."
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-04-2022, 06:51 AM
RViator60 RViator60 is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Location: Southport, NC
Posts: 138
Default

No issues hitting panel with Tosten sticks with CS-8 in my RV-14A. I prefer these over the shorter Vanís sticks. Just curious how folks are using the the two push buttons, I havenít assigned mine yet.
__________________
Marty Guinn
Based at KSUT, Southport, NC
- 1973 PA28-180 (N55087) sold
- 2021 RV-14A (N818PP) finished 12/21. 150 flight hrs so far.
RV14A Build Log: https://eaabuilderslog.org/?s=MartysRV14A
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-04-2022, 08:25 AM
Mike S's Avatar
Mike S Mike S is offline
Senior Curmudgeon
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Dayton Airpark, NV A34
Posts: 16,860
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RViator60 View Post
Just curious how folks are using the the two push buttons, I havenít assigned mine yet.
I have mine set up with the left button to switch comm frequencies, right button is xpnder ident.
__________________
Mike Starkey
VAF 909

Rv-10, N210LM.

Flying as of 12/4/2010

Phase 1 done, 2/4/2011

Sold after 240+ wonderful hours of flight.

"Flying the airplane is more important than radioing your plight to a person on the ground incapable of understanding or doing anything about it."
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-04-2022, 06:32 PM
TASEsq TASEsq is online now
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 610
Default

I am thinking i'll probably go with a G3X system incl GAD27 and was thinking switch functions as follows:
Trim Hat - pitch and roll trim (to the GAD27)
Trigger - PTT
Index (below trigger): Smoke on (to a relay deck)
Left Button: Go Around (to the GMC507 Autopilot Controller)
Right Button: AP DISC/CWS (to the GSA28 Servos) (maybe even try and paint it red).

There is also the motor disconnect function of the GAD27 but not sure this needs to be on the stick - maybe a panel switch for this? (Trim/Flap Enable?) Or just rely on the circuit breakers if the trim and/or flaps had a run away?
__________________
___________
Trent Stewart
Melbourne, Australia
http://www.tasrv14.blogspot.com.au/
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-04-2022, 06:45 PM
PilotjohnS PilotjohnS is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Southwest, USA
Posts: 2,895
Default simple

I made both the left and right top buttons the same: autopilot disconnect. If one choses to make them different functions, I would make sure the two functions don't cause problems if they are confused; this is why I made them the same function.

So AP disconnect and go around may be a problem since if you hit the wrong button, you will get a surprise. I chose not to put go around on the stick but rather the panel. because if I am going around with a button push, then I have auto pilot engaged and I don't want to be touching the stick. JMHO. YMMV
__________________
John S

WARNING! Information presented in this post is my opinion. All users of info have sole responsibility for determining accuracy or suitability for their use.

Dues paid 2023, worth every penny

RV9A- Status:
Flying June 2023
www.pilotjohnsrv9.blogspot.com
or builders log here on VAF: Pilotjohns

Last edited by PilotjohnS : 07-04-2022 at 06:48 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-04-2022, 08:42 PM
TASEsq TASEsq is online now
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 610
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by PilotjohnS View Post
. I chose not to put go around on the stick but rather the panel. because if I am going around with a button push, then I have auto pilot engaged and I don't want to be touching the stick. JMHO. YMMV
That's an interesting thought - i had assumed the autopilot would disconnect when you pressed TO/GA but i see in the G3X Pilot Handbook it will stay engaged if a "minimum airspeed" is configured.

Maybe the top 2 buttons could be:
- AP DISC/CWS
- Smoke on?

Then the front index button could be either used for TO/GA, or maybe something else and a panel mounted TO/GA used.

With a panel mounted TO/GA, does this work for those who have used it? Is there any issue with the time it takes to get the power in before you click the button? (in other aircraft i've always pushed the TO/GA button first then added the power in).
__________________
___________
Trent Stewart
Melbourne, Australia
http://www.tasrv14.blogspot.com.au/
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 07-04-2022, 09:37 PM
PilotjohnS PilotjohnS is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Southwest, USA
Posts: 2,895
Default

I have my TO/GA on the panel right above the theottle so I can push it as I advance the throttle using the same hand.

The top buttons being snoke and ap disc will work. You peobably wont be on autopilot if you are doing smoke. And if you hit smoke instead of ap sisconnect all you will do is make the tower go IFR temporarily.
__________________
John S

WARNING! Information presented in this post is my opinion. All users of info have sole responsibility for determining accuracy or suitability for their use.

Dues paid 2023, worth every penny

RV9A- Status:
Flying June 2023
www.pilotjohnsrv9.blogspot.com
or builders log here on VAF: Pilotjohns
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:10 PM.


The VAFForums come to you courtesy Delta Romeo, LLC. By viewing and participating in them you agree to build your plane using standardized methods and practices and to fly it safely and in accordance with the laws governing the country you are located in.