VansAirForceForums  
Home > VansAirForceForums

-POSTING RULES
-Advertise in here!
- Today's Posts | Insert Pics

Keep VAF Going
w/a Donation






VAF on Twitter:
@VansAirForceNet

  #11  
Old 04-06-2023, 12:57 PM
bjdecker's Avatar
bjdecker bjdecker is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Georgetown, TX
Posts: 1,650
Default

The G3X "default" settings assumes a 50mv/100A shunt -- at 60mv/60A you'll need to do some scale adjustments.

With the engine running, and the alternator field enabled, put the G3X into configuration mode, select Engine & Airframe, GEA 24 Inputs Tab, then Scroll down to Shunt 1.

Does your G3X show something like the attached pic? What's the value for "Sensor Value?"

If nothing, then it's time to chase the wires - Hi to the Alternator, Lo to the Battery side of the shunt. Is the alternator actually running -- volts measured on the "B" lead at 14.4 - 14.6Vdc?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot 2023-04-06 at 1.51.50 PM.png
Views:	54
Size:	710.0 KB
ID:	40664  
__________________
Brian Decker
EAA Technical Counselor
RV-7 (Flying)
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 04-06-2023, 01:09 PM
mfleming's Avatar
mfleming mfleming is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Joseph, Oregon
Posts: 1,105
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bjdecker View Post
The G3X "default" settings assumes a 50mv/100A shunt -- at 60mv/60A you'll need to do some scale adjustments.

With the engine running, and the alternator field enabled, put the G3X into configuration mode, select Engine & Airframe, GEA 24 Inputs Tab, then Scroll down to Shunt 1.

Does your G3X show something like the attached pic? What's the value for "Sensor Value?"

If nothing, then it's time to chase the wires - Hi to the Alternator, Lo to the Battery side of the shunt. Is the alternator actually running -- volts measured on the "B" lead at 14.4 - 14.6Vdc?
If my hi and lo are swapped, would it show zero?
Also, not sure about going to config mode with the engine runningÖ would my engine sensors still work and display?
__________________
Michael Fleming
Joseph, OR
sagriver at icloud dot com

RV-7 Slider #74572
Started 11/2016
First flight 03/27/2023

N526RM

Donated for 2023 and so should you
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 04-06-2023, 04:58 PM
bjdecker's Avatar
bjdecker bjdecker is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Georgetown, TX
Posts: 1,650
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mfleming View Post
If my hi and lo are swapped, would it show zero?
Also, not sure about going to config mode with the engine runningÖ would my engine sensors still work and display?
It will show a negative number.

Reboot the unit by pressing [nrst]+[menu]+[back] simultaneously. Then press the [menu] button until it says "Configuration Mode"...works great, very useful for checking on things like this in real-time....
__________________
Brian Decker
EAA Technical Counselor
RV-7 (Flying)
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 04-07-2023, 06:42 PM
mfleming's Avatar
mfleming mfleming is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Joseph, Oregon
Posts: 1,105
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bjdecker View Post
It will show a negative number.
Well thats a bummer...I'm not getting anything
I've checked the continuing and pin positions on the shut wires...not sure what else to check?

Quote:
Originally Posted by bjdecker View Post
Reboot the unit by pressing [nrst]+[menu]+[back] simultaneously. Then press the [menu] button until it says "Configuration Mode"...works great, very useful for checking on things like this in real-time....
Great tip, Thanks.
__________________
Michael Fleming
Joseph, OR
sagriver at icloud dot com

RV-7 Slider #74572
Started 11/2016
First flight 03/27/2023

N526RM

Donated for 2023 and so should you
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 04-07-2023, 07:52 PM
KatanaPilot's Avatar
KatanaPilot KatanaPilot is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Locust Grove, GA
Posts: 1,119
Default

If you have the shunt wires reversed, it might show a negative number - but if you have a minimum value of zero set on the gauge display range, I don’t think it will display a negative number.

This happened to me recently on our RV-10. Had confirmation of alternator operating with voltage increase, but zero amps. Found shunt to GEA wires reversed. The gauge minimum value was set at zero, so I don’t think it would have displayed negative current reading.
__________________
Krea Ellis

Locust Grove, GA
DA20-A1 "Princess Amelia" - gone home to Amelia Island
RV-7A Phase 2 (Honored to be Van's "Miss July" 2021) - now at her new home in Lakeville, MN
RV-10ER Phase 2. In paint at Evoke!
EAA Technical Counselor

Last edited by KatanaPilot : 04-08-2023 at 06:31 AM. Reason: Added clarification
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 04-08-2023, 11:04 AM
mfleming's Avatar
mfleming mfleming is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Joseph, Oregon
Posts: 1,105
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by KatanaPilot View Post
If you have the shunt wires reversed, it might show a negative number - but if you have a minimum value of zero set on the gauge display range, I donít think it will display a negative number.

This happened to me recently on our RV-10. Had confirmation of alternator operating with voltage increase, but zero amps. Found shunt to GEA wires reversed. The gauge minimum value was set at zero, so I donít think it would have displayed negative current reading.
Thanks, youíre right. I went into the config menu and thereís not an option to setup a negative number.

Next time I have my cowl off, Iíll swap the wires!
__________________
Michael Fleming
Joseph, OR
sagriver at icloud dot com

RV-7 Slider #74572
Started 11/2016
First flight 03/27/2023

N526RM

Donated for 2023 and so should you
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 04-08-2023, 11:47 AM
mburch's Avatar
mburch mburch is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Oregon
Posts: 1,750
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mfleming View Post
Thanks, youíre right. I went into the config menu and thereís not an option to setup a negative number.

Next time I have my cowl off, Iíll swap the wires!
If you look at the current calibration page it should show you the raw amps reading, which would indeed be a negative number for an alternator shunt wired backwards.
__________________
Matt Burch
RV-7 (last 90%)
http://www.rv7blog.com

Any opinions expressed in this message are my own and not those of my employer.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 04-18-2023, 09:59 PM
jakej jakej is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Posts: 189
Default High amps reading

I have a situation where the amps (70amp alt) are reading ~85 amps in cruise however volts are ok - any ideas, please ?
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 04-18-2023, 10:20 PM
mfleming's Avatar
mfleming mfleming is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Joseph, Oregon
Posts: 1,105
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jakej View Post
I have a situation where the amps (70amp alt) are reading ~85 amps in cruise however volts are ok - any ideas, please ?
If youíre using the G3X, you might look at the config page and check your settings for whatever shunt youíre using.

The G3X looks at the shunt and measures the millivolts across the shunt. My shut is 60 millivolts when the shunt is maxed out at 60 amps. The Garmin shunt is 50 millivolts at 100 amps. The G3X needs the info to know what the amps to millivolt factor is. If itís wrong, the amps will read higher or lower depending which way the error is. Iíve asked The G3experts twice how to figure the factor and have not been given a clear answer yet.

My rudimentary understanding is, my shunt would be a factor of 1 (60 mV/60 amps). The Garmin shunt would be a factor of .5 (50 mV/ 100 amps) but this is the part where Garmin was not clear on.

Hopefully someone with a better understanding of this will educate us.
__________________
Michael Fleming
Joseph, OR
sagriver at icloud dot com

RV-7 Slider #74572
Started 11/2016
First flight 03/27/2023

N526RM

Donated for 2023 and so should you
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 04-19-2023, 12:11 AM
mburch's Avatar
mburch mburch is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Oregon
Posts: 1,750
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mfleming View Post
The G3X looks at the shunt and measures the millivolts across the shunt. My shut is 60 millivolts when the shunt is maxed out at 60 amps. The Garmin shunt is 50 millivolts at 100 amps. The G3X needs the info to know what the amps to millivolt factor is. If itís wrong, the amps will read higher or lower depending which way the error is. Iíve asked The G3experts twice how to figure the factor and have not been given a clear answer yet.
The software allows you to enter the mV/A value directly, why not just do that?
__________________
Matt Burch
RV-7 (last 90%)
http://www.rv7blog.com

Any opinions expressed in this message are my own and not those of my employer.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:04 PM.


The VAFForums come to you courtesy Delta Romeo, LLC. By viewing and participating in them you agree to build your plane using standardized methods and practices and to fly it safely and in accordance with the laws governing the country you are located in.