What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

GoPro Hero3

n5lp

fugio ergo sum
I am new to the GoPro scene. I received my 3 this week and did a quick and dirty test. Using the included mounting hardware I stuck it to the front of back part of the tip-up canopy frame.

IMG_0635.jpg

This was without any thought at all and of course the vibration was too much most all the time. A few Gs would smooth it out though. The vibration issue will be easy to cure with a brace and wire or maybe just a velcro mount.

GoProShot.jpg

When I looked into the difficulties of editing software that can take GoPro files and when I considered the already known difficulties of finding legally usable music, I looked at the still photo in a new way. The photo above isn't even a true frame capture, it is a screen capture that I got by pausing the video and using the Mac screen capture utility. With all that I think the quality is pretty amazing. The GoPro3 has many options and I am thinking that some of the sequential still photo options may get very nice results.

When I put the above photo on Facebook a friend said "Were you flying upside down and taking your own picture at the same time? Well sort of.

IMG_0638.jpg

Last edited:
Looking forward to getting mine. Only due to arrive first week in December:(. Hope to be able to make some nice videos of our future family trips in the RV10. Can't wait to see your results once you get the mount supported properly.

Im also looking into getting one of these. I see on the Gopro site they have 3 models white, silver and black. The black model looks to be the best one out so far. Now with wifi, I just hope they will soon sell a filter to remove the prop wobble in HD.

I've had an original Gopro that I love. Just purchased a HERO3 silver, but it arrived DOA. Ugh. Got to deal with returning it - hopefully I can just drop it off, they are apparently about a mile from my house.