What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Zip Tip v3 - Installing the access cover

dcurrier

For all the builders who have purchased the Zip Tips from Aveo Engineering... what is your preferred method of installing the fiberglass access cover plate on the underside of the tip? I have zero experience working with fiberglass and am looking for some ideas. I'd like to keep it flush mounted, but the cover is pretty thin, so I'm not sure it would take a counter sink very well without cracking...

I'm open to any suggestions...

I haven't done it yet, but was thinking soft "A" rivets and nutplates would be the way to go.

You can see the photos in my blog, link below, from about a week ago. Use the Lighting link at the left to find it quickly. It sounds like I'm about the same step as you, as I've been working on these wingtips in various forms for the past two weeks.

I installed #8 nutplates inside the access area, using CCC-32 cherry rivets (designed for nutplates) and a 0.025 aluminum strip to back the fiberglass inside the access area. I was still a little concerned about even those pop rivets pulling through, so I also put a dab of JB Weld in each rivet hole as I set the rivets to give it a little bit more strength.

For the access cover, I countersunk for #8 screws but I used Tinnerman washers to spread the load and protect the fiberglass. I will be "painting" my plane with 3M vinyl, so you can see the red vinyl holding the washers nicely in place.

I can help

For all the builders who have purchased the Zip Tips from Aveo Engineering... what is your preferred method of installing the fiberglass access cover plate on the underside of the tip? I have zero experience working with fiberglass and am looking for some ideas. I'd like to keep it flush mounted, but the cover is pretty thin, so I'm not sure it would take a counter sink very well without cracking...

I'm open to any suggestions...