What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Painting Aluminum???

Vans101

Well Known Member
I am trying to get geared up to paint some aluminum sheet metal and small aluminum parts. This is not an airplane project however I am practicing on this so as to figure out the basics before I do a real job.

I've only ever used rattle can paint and was very disappointed with the results so now I want to put on my big boy spray hood and learn to do it right so I am a complete newbie on the subject so any and all advice wanted.

Can someone please recommend the following:

-Easy primer to use (self etching/ epoxy/ other)

-Easy paint to use (once step color...not base clear coat)

-Type of thinner for the above

-Paint gun tip for the above

-Type of HPLV gun (make/model/ gravity/ updraft/ needle size/ other)

-Online source to buy the paint/ primer/ thinner

-Paint filters

-Clean up techniques and pro tips

-Website or video on how to paint (I imagine others have already screened through the kazillion websites/ videos out there and found a couple of sources that were better and cut to the chase and not hear the guy's life story before the actual education.

So for those who have just done the research on this topic can you please help me get moving in the right direction?

THANKS!!!

Last edited:
Your list is missing the most important part: prep work. The best paint in the world is no good on a poorly prep’d surface. You should ask:
What cleaning agents, what de-greasers, what mechanical scuffing aids, what etching chemicals are used, and how. After that most paints will stick okay.

There's a whole Painting section of the forum. A number of your questions are answered there.

Nearly every paint has manufacturer's instructions regarding prep, priming, drying, mixing, and so on. Some of the instructions are aimed at more experienced painters than others, but all are informative.

Dave

Prep