What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Wind Shear: How Concerned Should I be

lr172

Well Known Member
I am a relatively low time pilot (200 hours) and have never flown when wind shear was forecast. I am planning my second x-country in my RV-6A (just out of Phase I) tomorrow and Wind shear is forecasted. The surface wind forecast is 20015G23 with WS017 / 21054. I don't know how concerned I should be with this. How dangerous is this condition in an RV? I have already experienced some decent turbulence already. In fact, yesterday I got thrown into a steep up / banking attitude. Pretty scary when it happened. I pushed forward pretty hard to be sure that I didn't stall. I had never had turbulence do that to me before.

I know to be concerned with Vertical WS associated with convective activity and think that I understand it and it's potential affects. However, this is horizontal WS, associated with wind gradients.

I appreciate any guidance you can provide me on managing the WS risk.

Larry

Last edited:
I am a relatively low time pilot (200 hours) and have never flown when wind shear was forecast. I am planning my second x-country in my RV-6A (just out of Phase I) tomorrow and Wind shear is forecasted. The surface wind forecast is 20015G23 with WS017 / 21054. I don't know how concerned I should be with this. How dangerous is this condition in an RV? I have already experienced some decent turbulence already. In fact, yesterday I got thrown into a steep up / banking attitude. Pretty scary when it happened. I pushed forward pretty hard to be sure that I didn't stall. I had never had turbulence do that to me before.

I know to be concerned with Vertical WS associated with convective activity and think that I understand it and it's potential affects. However, this is horizontal WS, associated with wind gradients.

Larry