What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Just got my RV-7 Preview Plans! The journey begins!

CubedRoot

Well Known Member
Hello all!
I am pretty new to the RV builders scene. I am currently a student pilot, working towards my PPL with about 33 hours under the belt.

Flying has been something I have ALWAYS wanted to do, but never could afford it. So, I saved up, and saved up, and pinched pennies until I had enough put back for lessons. Now, I have had airplanes on the brain (as my wife calls it) since I started flight training, and recently got the itch to build my own plane.

After looking at all the older planes for sale on the market, I decided I would have more fun building my own plane, than buying a "ready-to-go" certified plane. Plus, building gives me the financial freedom to pay as I go, and buy the kit in stages.

I have kind of settled on a taildragger, slider, RV-7. I am not sure if I want to do aerobatics just yet, since I am still nervous in the cockpit just maintaining normal maneuvers. But, having the ability to do so in the plane gives me the freedom to choose later on, if I decided to take some aerobatic lessons. I also wanted a side by side to make trips with my wife more enjoyable. An RV-10 would have been my dream choice, but I just don't have the budget for it. So, after looking and lurking on the forums, I have settled on an RV-7. I want a tail dragger because I want to do some grass strips, and I love the slider canopys.

I pulled the trigger and ordered my preview plans kit, as well as the Vans Story DVD. They showed up at my house yesterday, and I spent most of the evening reading through it. They are really well done!
I even brought them to my office, scanned them on our fancy document scanenr, and did some OCR on them. Now, I have excellent quality PDF's of the documents, that have been OCR'd and are completely searchable.