What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Vans farm for Flight Simulator

Harley Dickinson

I'm New Here
Hey guys i am a Scenery developer for MS Flight simulator X, as you know there are several Vans Aircraft around for FSX... I am currently interested in putting the Vangrunsven Farm into FSX for use..... Does anyone know the location... All i know is that it exists... Pictures?

Welcome to VAF!

Harley, welcome to the good ship VAF:D.

The location is to the west of Portland, as I recall.

North Plains or something like that, I believe.

Maybe I can find it, will post if I do.

Ty this-----Google is your friend. Not sure if this is actually the old family farm???

http://blog.cafefoundation.org/?p=1769

Last edited:
This painting by artist (and RV-8 builder) Paul Tuttle is a re-creation of what the family farm looked like at the time van was flying the RV-1 out of there:

rv13.jpg

Go to...

maps.google.com and search [ed. Hi Dave! I'm not a big fan of publishing folk's home addresses on the web, so I deleted Van's. The family farm was formerly at 45°33'52.64"N, 123° 4'33.34"W (now just a field - and Van doesn't live there. br,dr]

That's the address google came up with for Richard VanGrunsven.

Hey guys i am a Scenery developer for MS Flight simulator X, as you know there are several Vans Aircraft around for FSX... I am currently interested in putting the Vangrunsven Farm into FSX for use..... Does anyone know the location... All i know is that it exists... Pictures?

Last edited by a moderator:
Why not put the Vans factory building at KUAO? You could put the hangar and VANS AIRCRAFT sign out in front. Unless maybe you already added this?

Christopher.

Sunset (1OR3) is Van's current home and where they used to hold the 'Van's Homecoming' Fly In.

The 'Family Farm' strip was at this location below. It's no longer in use and doesn't appear on recent Google photos.

45?33'52.64"N