What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Down Draft / Wind Shear on Final

RV6_flyer

Well Known Member
Benefactor
I consider myself an experienced pilot with more than 3,000 flight hours and over 1,600 Cross Country hours. I am a commercial rated pilot, built my RV, and have flown it over 16-year. I have over 2,700 RV hours.

Background: Airplane is RV-6, 160 HP, Constant Speed prop, VSO = 41 KTS, VX = 65 KTS, VY = 80 KTS
Normal pattern speed is 65 KTS, decent rate down final = 700 FPM

After a 2.6 hour cross country flight; I experienced an event that was a first for me after 32-years of flying.

ASOS reports Wind 200 @ 14 KTS with gusts to 23 KTS when 10 NM out.
Crossed over the airport and entered left pattern for landing on Runway 21. Update on the ASOS on the radio reports winds 19 with gusts to 29 KTS.

Flying a normal pattern (1,000 AGL TPA) and decent approach profile at a ¼ mile final and 300’ above the runway, I experienced a strong sink rate. Airspeed dropped to 60 KIAS and sink rate was 1,700 FPM. Full power was added and forward pressure used on the stick. The windshield is full of the hill / cliff at the approach end of the runway. Airspeed, Airspeed, Airspeed go through my mind. Full power slowed then arrested the sink rate but there was a slight delay as airspeed went up and I had a positive rate of climb. I am now over the numbers doing 80 KTS and 50 feet in the air. With lots of hours and experience in the airplane, I pulled power for landing. The runway is 3,898 feet long so the excess airspeed was judged not to be an issue. Power pulled to idle, airspeed reduced and a normal one small bounce 3-point tailwheel landing followed.