VansAirForceForums  
Home > VansAirForceForums

-POSTING RULES
-Advertise in here!
- Today's Posts | Insert Pics

Keep VAF Going
Donate methods

Point your
camera app here
to donate fast.

  #1  
Old 07-30-2021, 11:34 AM
TheFrisco TheFrisco is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Location: Santa Cruz, CA
Posts: 30
Default Dynon Autopilot Settings for RV4?

Yes its time to go flying so ... Any of you have your RV4 Dynon AP settings handy, as a starting point that is?

Found this in the forums for an RV10 which is quite different plane though ...
  • Torque 90
  • Sens 20
  • Aspd min 83
  • Airsp max 190
  • Vspd 500
  • Pitch gain 30
  • Alt gain 18
  • Vsi gain 25
  • Pull rate 18
  • G err gain 16
  • G err limit 17

Your settings?

Thanks Robert
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-30-2021, 12:00 PM
Carl Froehlich's Avatar
Carl Froehlich Carl Froehlich is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Dogwood Airpark (VA42)
Posts: 3,129
Default

Iíve never found a need to change from the default setting in the 8A, 10, 14 or 8.

Carl
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-30-2021, 05:29 PM
RV7 To Go RV7 To Go is offline
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 320
Default

As a starting point just go with the defaults.

Started flying my 4 with the Skyview Classic last week. No changes from the default settings required so far, even in mild turbulence, after 16 hrs to date. The only change from default my 7 required was a small reduction in pitch gain.
__________________
Al
___________
RV4 - Bought 2013 Sold 2017 after 450 hrs
RV7 - Built in 6.5 yrs & Flying 2017
RV4 - Built 2021 Time flown and Sold
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-31-2021, 05:43 AM
Skysailor Skysailor is offline
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 286
Default Use the Dynon Autopilot Tuning Guide

I strongly recommend starting with the default settings and then use the Dynon Autopilot Tuning Guide you can download from Dynon's site. Do the steps in the order given. If adjustment is needed I have not seen a plane go past Step 2 in the ten or so systems I have installed. I have "repaired" two systems that went with settings people got from somewhere else and input without flying the plane. Reverting all settings to default and using the guide fixed both.
__________________
RV4
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:10 PM.


The VAFForums come to you courtesy Delta Romeo, LLC. By viewing and participating in them you agree to build your plane using standardized methods and practices and to fly it safely and in accordance with the laws governing the country you are located in.