What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

New to taildraggers

Felipemg

I'm New Here
I just solo'd on my RV4 (N7071J) and I'm new to tail-draggers, 1,400 hr private IFR used to fly a Piper Malibu where my approach and landing speeds were much higher.

I'm amazed of how slow you have to get in order to actually touch on all 3 wheels and I'm slowly getting used to these new parameters.

I've seen on this forum that there are 2 lines of thought on this issue, some argue to land on the mains then to slow down to lower the tail while the other argue to land on 3 even on x-wind conditions.

So far I've landed in nothing but calm conditions and 3 wheel landings, close to stall speed, have been relatively easy to learn but if feels a little exposed in the case of gusty x-wind conditions.

Can anyone share their experience on this subject to further my learning

Thank y'all for your help

Blessings

Felipe
https://flightaware.com/photos/view/283135-e6828636b08507e3ba958648c8ee815ff74af45f/aircrafttype/RV4

Last edited:
Good pointer from Ed.

Another one, runway < than say 1200’ = 3 pointers = shorter roll out.
> than say 1200” (or whatever, meaning for me it’s closer to 1K) choose whatever suits u. Basically I always 3point since it is what I learned first and runways can be pretty short around here...
In a nutshell, don’t set your approach speed to your ego, but on your aircraft characteristics, and those RVs fly surprisingly slow ;)

The short-wing RVs have a high enough wing loading and sit so low to the ground that cross winds are not a problem even in a 3-point. I 3-pointed my -6 about 95% of the time. My runway is 1500' long@640' elevation and I seldom had to use brakes.

Mike Seager gave an EAA webinar earlier this weeked titled "Critical RV Flying Skills" that you might find insightful.

Here are some articles by Van himself that may be of interest: