What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

potential new builder looking for local advise (west side Houston area)

lipper03

Builder RV14A & ZA750SD
Benefactor
Hey all, I'm a potential new builder looking to get local advise. I live in Fulshear, west of Houston. Reached out to a few of you from the eaabuilder site, and joined here on a recommendation. Hopefully I can make the next third weekend lunch to meet some of you.

I currently own a Piper Dakota over at IWS (West Houston), and have been thinking about a second aircraft. I've been looking and researching for months, and I keep coming back to building an RV-14. Something that's a bit more of a fun aircraft, and think I like the idea of building my own (an at home hobby that's part of my flying hobby).

I've never built an aircraft before, so want to talk and potentially see some of the local builds to get a feel for if it's really for me.

I have cleaned up my garages, and got the plans for the 14. Also have some practice kits from Vans. I also just signed up for the December metal working EAA class near Waco. So starting to do more than just web surfing, just not quite ready to buy more tools and order a kit yet.

Anyway, again will glad to get to know some of you and learn as much as I can. Appreciate the help and advise!

Brian
Fulshear, TX
PA-28-236 (IWS)
Potential RV-14 build

Last edited:
Sounds like you're on the right track. Building an RV is big investment in time and money, and it's not for everyone. Going to a build school is an excellent start. The school gives you a jump start on the necessary knowledge & skills--and it's a pretty good barometer of how inclined you are to build. Some come away from a school thinking, "I ain't going through all of that!" There's your sign. But others will come away chomping at the bit eager to get started with their RV.