What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Momentary blackout

kaweeka

Well Known Member
I've been flying with my G3x and GTN 625 for almost 2 years and enjoying the many features and benefits provided. I keep everything up to date with respect to software and charts. Something interesting happened yesterday after a few practice approaches. While taxiing in, the G3x went black momentarily then re-booted with all frequencies and screens as they were prior to the event. This happened once before exactly as described. Just goes black and immediately reboots back as it was. I never could find a reason and I am stumped still. I checked all connections carefully to be sure. I would hate to be driving an approach to mins and have this happen again. Anyone have a similar experience? Any suggestions?
Thanks,
David

Call Garmin

...the G3x went black momentarily then re-booted with all frequencies and screens as they were prior to the event. ... Any suggestions?
David, strong suggestion is to contact Garmin - if it reboots due to a crash, could be HW, could be SW. Make sure that you are on the latest and greatest software, and ensure that the power to your system is reliable. I'm sure that they will walk you through to get it fixed, but I would not recommend flying it in anger until you're sure it's fixed.

A friend at my airport had the same thing happen last week, twice. Once in flight, in VMC fortunately, and once again while taxiing in. Just as you described with the G3X touch and GTN 650. Connectors were fine and power/grounds were checked. Bus power was fine during the event. No explanation.

Thanks for the reply. I promise not to fly in anger.:)