What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Excellent Support from Grand Rapids Technologies

skylor

Well Known Member
All,

I have been meaning to share my experiences in dealing with Grand Rapids Technologies service and support for some time, but I'm finally getting around to doing it.

I originally purchased a 3 display GRT Horizon 1 EFIS system + EIS for use in my RV-8 back in 2006. Well, since I'm a slow builder, I didn't get my plane completed until this year. My display setup consists of 2 displays mounted in the instrument panel and the 3rd display installed in the back seat for the passenger.

Anyway, I've had my wiring pretty much complete since early 2009 and everything initially worked great. However, earlier this year (March I think) one of my 2 front displays started misbehaving and would sometimes go into a continuous reboot cycle. After some trouble shooting, I removed the display and further bench tested in at home. The problem was intermittent, but I was definitely able to get the display fail outside of the aircraft with nothing but 12V DC power hooked up, so I called GRT and they told me to send it in.

The day that UPS delivered my display to GRT, Mark called to tell me that they received it, but couldn't get it fail. As I started to explain that the problem was intermittent but definitely the display, Mark reassured me that there was nothing to worry about because a brand new display was on its way to me, no charge! This was a system purchased over 3 1/2 years prior, although it had never flown yet. Now that is what I call excellent service!

Furthermore, every time that I have called or e-mailed GRT with questions, their response has always been prompt and extremely helpful.

I now have 27.2 hours on my RV-8, and the GRT equipment has been absolutely flawless and a joy to fly with.

Skylor Piper
RV-8,
Recently Completed Phase 1