What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Considering My Options

MsMiner

I'm new to VAF and am stuck in the debacle of aircraft ownership...I'm 26 and about to get my ppl (one more XC flight and then then my checkride). I'm not new to the experimental aircraft market. I helped my dad build when I was in 8th grade. Unfortunately he didn't stick to his original plan with a 9a. He went with a different kit manufacturer instead.

A majority of my time gets spent training for triathlons so I understand that I will probably have to put that on hold for 4-5 years if I decide to build. I'm at the point where I can't stop thinking about an RV. I've been actively looking/pricing out an RV-7 or RV-8. I'm 6'5" 190 and originally thought the 8 would be the plane for me. However I have a girl in the mix as well, thankfully she understands my passion for aviation, but to get her on board I think the side-by-side seating would provide me with the most viable argument for building one.

The soonest I would probably start building would be late 2017. The plan is to go to Oshkosh and sit in a few and hopefully get a ride in one. The latest I would like to start is when I'm 30. Basically I don't want to give life the opportunity to get in the way.

I would love to hear your input.

-Mark

No matter what age you think is the "perfect" age, life will always have a say in the matter and constantly get in the way.

Just get started. Move forward a little bit every day. Simple.

Says the man with the pile of sheetmetal in the garage....waiting.

When I was 26, I was too busy chasing girls to think about flying or building. Your girlfriend should get credit for that as well ;)

No need to wait for OSH to get in an RV. Just ask around and you'll find people that would be happy to give you a trial fit.

At 6'5", you should consider the "almost -14 mod by Anti-Splat.