What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

SkyView Firmware 6.0

NASA515

Well Known Member
Dynon released SV Ver 6 yesterday - early! I downloaded it, did a fast manual study, uploaded it today and went flying.

I know Dynon seems to have abandoned the D-180 crowd, but their work in the SV arena is simply spectacular. I read the new Instruction Manual while waiting for my truck to get worked on. The autopilot is completely made-over (and after I studied the old setup ad nauseum to get it figured out!) It splits out the VFR pilot from the IFR pilot - you can pick which one you want. I tried both of them in-flight. The VFR offers many great features enabling a single button push to achieve various neat results - allowing you to go Wings Level, freeze your current Track and Altitude, or Nav heading and Altitude. The IFR guys get full Flight Director with choice of Winged Director Bars or Cross-pointers, MDA callouts, and more.

All the radio Push-Pull stuff is in there, I'll be wiring it up ASAP, ordered and received the shielded wire from SteinAir.

Amazing what software can do - upload a file and have a completely revamped flight deck system!

I am going to sign-off my Phase 1 Flight Testing tonight. My requirement was the standard 5 hours. I have 10.6 hrs Tach; 18.6 hrs Hobbs; 15 Flights, and 23 Landings.

Bob Bogash
N737G

One thing I noticed was odd with the update:

- I only have the transponder hooked up to one of my two skyviews, prior to the update I was able to select the serial data port for the transponder on one screen and leave it blank on the other. After the update, the screen that does not have a transponder hooked to it reads transponder fail, for some reason it populates a serial data port for the transponder, if you delete it it deletes in both screens! I don't get it.