What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Prop Strike!! Know your pilot!!

Rabidsnipe

For this first post I am simply going to state facts (or facts as I perceived them). I will refer to the other individuals involved simply as "the pilot" or "someone on the ground" etc.

As a new pilot I would like some commentary on what I am about to describe. I would like some comment as to whether you feel these actions (of mine) were correct. There are some things now that, having survived and learned from this experience, that I wish I would have done differently. I would also like some commentary on the actions of the other pilot. This pilot is my senior in both age and experience. I will provide my commentary and opinion after some discussion.

The plane that I am speaking about belongs to a flying club of which both I and the pilot are members. I am being careful about the details (names, places, etc.) because I'm not quite sure how to proceed at this point. I would appreciate some advice on that as well.

On 6/7/08 myself, XXX, XXX, and XXX (the pilot) prepared for a flight in XXX a Cessna 182. The pilot was left seat PIC for this flight and I was right seat. XXX and XXX were backseat passengers (both non-pilots). This was my first flight in XXX and any C182 for that matter.

The weather before take-off could be described as good visibility with broken skies at an undetermined altitude; we were able to complete the entire flight without penetrating any clouds. The winds were high but at an unknown velocity (I had called off our scheduled flight at 8am that morning due to the winds being 18024G30KT).