What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Professional Paint Job with Orange Peel on Cowling

I recently took my RV-6 to a local aviation paint shop for a full strip, primer, patch work and repaint. The original paint job showed Orange peel, few runs, and in many locations it was starting to flake on the leading edge of the wing. The painter said; over all the plane was in good shape, and that he would fix any trouble spots. Well seven weeks later on a four week job, I was very excited to see my new paint job. The first thing I noticed was orange peel on the cowling? I ask the painter why is there orange peel, and he says that is not the paint, but that is from the gel coat in the Fiberglas? Either way it's unacceptable! He then states that he could not possibly fill all of that, it would add five pounds? I am not an expert, but I would expect the fix should have been proper sanding before applying the new paint. The paint is Sherwin Williams Jet Glo Base Clear. I would like some advice from you guys with experience on fiberglass finishing and painting.
image.jpg

https://lh4.googleusercontent.com/-1rSYUmfyISs/VG0tFAIWaSI/AAAAAAAAACQ/9HII1nmN4Rs/s800/image.jpg

Thanks Chad

Last edited:
He's full of it. Make him strip it and do it right next time.

Fiberglass paint

I suspect you are going to here this from just about everyone, but...

My RV4 is polished aluminum except painted fiberglass. The original paint was metallic and not done well. There was orange peel and other problems. I had it repainted about a year ago. It is perfect. There is no excuse for less from a reputable shop.

Jim
RV4 N444JT
Leesburg, VA