What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Scoring inside Cylinders 2 & 4

I just had a pre-buy inspection done on an RV-12. I am pretty new to the aviation world and just want some feedback on this. Here are some things I'd love some opinions on:

1. scoring on upper cylinder walls of 2 and 4
2. engine driven fuel pump replacement past due
3. will need all rubber replaced soon

Avgas has been used primarily and the plane has about 400 hrs TT on it. Any feedback is appreciated!

The primary purpose of getting an airplane is to build hours. I want to get 1200 hours asap!

Attachments

• Cyl-2 boro.jpg
    Cyl-2 boro.jpg
    70 KB · Views: 481
  • Cyl-4 boro.jpg
    Cyl-4 boro.jpg
    65.3 KB · Views: 420
Last edited:
Personally, I would pass on any Rotax engine, that has scored bores.

The bores on these engines are silica ceramic on aluminum bores. The question then becomes how did they end up getting scored and abused, and what else is possibly wrong with the motor. A possible prop strike? Was gear box, engine and clutch thoroughly torn apart and gone thru?

I would just walk away from it. Not worth the down time, money or headaches for the potential surprises.

YMMV, I don't have the time for such nonsense.

Last edited:
I just had a pre-buy inspection done on an RV-12. I am pretty new to the aviation world and just want some feedback on this. Here are some things I'd love some opinions on:

1. scoring on upper cylinder walls of 2 and 4
2. engine driven fuel pump replacement past due
3. will need all rubber replaced soon

Avgas has been used primarily and the plane has about 400 hrs TT on it. Any feedback is appreciated!

The primary purpose of getting an airplane is to build hours. I want to get 1200 hours asap!