What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Another 10 ordered!

pchansen

Good morning all.
First post and just took the plunge! Well, given delivery schedules, I’ll take the plunge in 11 months when my tail kit comes.

A very brief bio- first plane kit or otherwise so not too familiar with GA but I’m a 27 year airline pilot. So I can at least talk on the radio. That’s all I can promise at this point. I’ve built houses, restored cars and have every tool known to man other than of course anything to do with aircraft sheet metal. That will change shortly. I’m also not “pilot sized”. Ex-football player here and I’m 6’5” and 265 on a good day. I had been looking at C-210’s but became disgusted with their prices and conditions. $225k for a 50 year old airplane with orange shag carpeting and a mid-time motor. No thanks.
So…. Not too early to start asking questions I suppose.. and yes, I realize this question is random and out of order and should probably be asking how to build the toolbox first but I have a ton of questions and ideas swirling around and this just happens to be one of them.
Regarding the -10. My plan is to have a flying Audi. I really into nice interiors. I’ve been watching the magic of AxiationX aircraft interiors on can do on older aircraft on youtube and logging all sorts of cool ideas.
I initially was a fan of the Aerosport overhead console but given my height, I’m thinking of forgoing any sort of overhead console. I know I can put eyeball vents in the panel for the front two seats but what about the rear seats? Can eyeball vents be incorporated into a center armrest between the two front seats? The headliner will most likely be quilted Alcantara with a ¼” foam backing.
I’m simply trying to create a roadmap for the next 6 years. I look forward to hearing your ideas and eventually being able to contribute to this wonderful community.
Paul Hansen
Camas, WA