What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Nose gear leg strength

[email protected]

I'm New Here
I have been flying my RV-6A for 18 years 1500 hours and have always been apprehensive about the strength of the nose gear leg, now my grandson has started his flying career at 14 learning in the RV.
I again started the conversation about the gear leg strength and was advised Anti Splat build a strengthening bracket. How is it I did not know this. Well I ordered it, got it installed in an hour, what a nice piece of engineering, and I sleep better now when my grandson flies it.
If like me you did not know about the ?nose job one or two?, I suggest you check it out, it could save your life.

My uncle pranged my 9A in on a landing hard enough to leave half my nose wheel pant on the runway, I found witness marks on the nose gear leg that showed the Anti-Splat brace made full contact with the flexing gear leg. Did it prevent a failure and noseover? Can't say - but it didn't happen, and I'm glad I installed it.