What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Bad customer experience calling Van's help line?

Palamedes

Well Known Member
I recently called Van's for some help and I feel I had a bad customer experience.. Frankly, I feel like I was treated rudely and (for the lack of a better word) punished for calling for help.

As if my question was beneath the individual who had answered the phone, was a stupid question and that I should just "figure it out because we aren't going to hold your hand".

I realize that these guys do this all day long so it's simple for them, but as a first time builder I kinda feel like the help line is there to help me.. not make me feel like I shouldn't call because I'm a big dummy for not knowing something that's obvious to them.

Has anyone else had this experience?

Now I feel like I can't call Van's for help. Honestly, this really put me off Van's as it was a terrible customer experience.. :(

EDIT: Just a quick edit to talk to the point of this thread;

I'm concerned for the longevity of Van's more than anything else. The number of people here that seem to imply that Van's can do no wrong and that I'm thin skinned for bringing this up is concerning..

This is about helping Van's better their process because .. and I can't emphasize this enough .. I WANT THEM TO STICK AROUND A LONG LONG TIME..

Admittedly I have a selfish reason for this; I'm now invested in them.. heavily if you consider the costs involved.

But also as a small business owner, I recognize how important customers are, how hard they are to keep, and how if ONE complains, there is a good chance there are 10 more who feel the same way and didn't say anything. (And the PM's I have gotten prove that point)

This isn't about being thin skinned. This is about trying to correct something for the good of all.

Last edited: