What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

I'm a 6/7 driver...

Jerry Cochran

Well Known Member
...and I see an RV-9a that looks nice. Pls share with me the thought process that
attracted you to the -9. I understand the lower stall speed which would be nice and been told the -9 is a great CC machine, but so was the -6a I built... I could easily enough extend the range by slowing down 10 kts or so... Also loved the feeling of security the 6g wing gave...

Not trying to start anything, just curious...

My RV-9A flies fast and slow, high and low. Not interested in doing aerobatics. Great economical cross country machine. I can get 148-150 knots TAS on 6 gallons per hour up at 10,000'. It lifts off the runway at 65 knots and I can easily land it with a stable 60 knot approach. I've had it as high as 16,700'. Its wing has an airfoil designed by John Roncz, which makes all of this performance possible. That wing really wants to fly!

I'm with Bruce on this one. I've got a little over 200 hours on my 9A and I'm still learning its capabilities. I can fly formation with it, I can travel with it, but I can't do aerobatics. I still don't have the gear intersection fairings on but here is a picture of a recent trip to Montana at 17,500'...

I have another picture with a 225 knot ground speed but that was down hill. :)

2015-08-06%2B12.50.02.jpg

My RV-9A flies fast and slow, high and low. Not interested in doing aerobatics. Great economical cross country machine. I can get 148-150 knots TAS on 6 gallons per hour up at 10,000'. It lifts off the runway at 65 knots and I can easily land it with a stable 60 knot approach. I've had it as high as 16,700'. Its wing has an airfoil designed by John Roncz, which makes all of this performance possible. That wing really wants to fly!

These are figures that are well within the 6A capability.