What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Looking into RV-6A as a fairly new pilot

Turbo69bird

Well Known Member
My good Freind turbo and I were recently discussing RV6As. As a possibility. I'm a low time pilot who pretty much only got my ppl because TURBO got me hooked on his RV6a.
I did my training mostly in a 172 and have been club flying a different 172 and a piper archer.

I'd eventually like to go to a 6A but would be buying a lower priced plane, Looking for: 7 tail, no sloshed tanks, top mounted pedals, dual toe brakes and a slider not a tip up. Don't think a tail wheel is a good Idea even if I could get ins which I probably couldn't,

I was inquiring about one in Florida the other day, but the owner wasn't very forthcoming with log books, pictures or info.

I'm located in CT,

First question is: would you guys suggest waiting to get into an RV until I've got more hrs. Currently at about 100 hrs. Total.

Second question: am I missing anything I should look out for other than what I've stated?

Third question: anyone know of any good 6As in the lower end of the pricing?

Mission for this plane is currently VFR to local $100 hamburger flights, fairly local island runs, and some local fly ins etc.

Will probably go for my IFR in the near future, mainly for safety's sake.
I don't see myself flying intentional IFR except to get "actual " experience which I feel is important.

Any thoughts greatly appreciated.

Don't dismiss the standard low profile RV6 tail. It works just fine as long as you avoid spins. The short tail IMHO has less tail-wag in turbulence than the taller tails, and looks sexier too. My 6 has no shortage of rudder authority with the short tail.

My good Freind turbo and I were recently discussing RV6As. As a possibility. I'm a low time pilot who pretty much only got my ppl because TURBO got me hooked on his RV6a.