VansAirForceForums  
Home > VansAirForceForums

-POSTING RULES
-Advertise in here!
- Today's Posts | Insert Pics

Keep VAF Going
Donate methods

Point your
camera app here
to donate fast.

  #301  
Old 01-17-2020, 03:23 PM
bjdecker's Avatar
bjdecker bjdecker is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Georgetown, TX
Posts: 1,241
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by andreskatz View Post
i have a similar panel with a g3x touch and garmin gtn 650 like yours, then how do you become adsb out compliant with such equipment? i called stein air and they say that it should be but i tested it on the ground and got no signal
any help appreciated

andres rv8
I forgot to mention that I have a GTX 345 transponder...

PM Sent - happy to help you work through the config changes
__________________
Brian Decker
RV-7 (Flying)

Last edited by bjdecker : 01-17-2020 at 03:31 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #302  
Old 02-02-2020, 11:41 PM
smt6 smt6 is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: SoCal
Posts: 376
Default

Any chance on adding a “Hours on oil” meter?
Reply With Quote
  #303  
Old 02-02-2020, 11:55 PM
JTJones's Avatar
JTJones JTJones is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Haleiwa, HI
Posts: 160
Default How about this...

This applies to the GTNs but there isn?t (I don?t think) a GTN Wish List. But I?ll submit here for the G3X and GTN that in my experience, 90% of the time I push the Direct To Button it is to go to a fix that is in my flight plan. After all, ATC usually clears you to a fix that is in your flight plan. However, after pushing the Direct button I then have to select the Flight Plan Tab to get to the fix I would like to go direct to. I suggest that when selecting the Direct To Button, the default tab is the Flight Plan Tab. Any one agree?
__________________
Jeffrey T Jones
RV-14 N588TJ Completed
First Flight July 10, 2018
Flight testing completed August 14, 2018
2022 VAF dues paid plus beer money😜
Reply With Quote
  #304  
Old 02-03-2020, 06:41 AM
F1 Rocket F1 Rocket is offline
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Melboring, FL
Posts: 231
Default Simpler display view options?

I?m on the very steep learning curve on my recently installed G3X panel. This is an upgrade from my original Dynon D100 based panel. The hardest thing I?m finding to adjust to is the incredible amount of info available on the G3X PFD. This is great but...I?m having a hard time seeing the basics. My old D100 was easier to read.
__________________
Danny
F1 Rocket #25
N14ZM "Dreamer"
Melboring, FL
Reply With Quote
  #305  
Old 02-04-2020, 05:21 PM
kearney kearney is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Canmore, Alberta, Canada
Posts: 64
Default G3X MFD Reversion

Hi

Grounding pin 25 on the MFD d-sub connection causes reversion (duplication) of PFD flight instrumentation onto the MFD. Can this be done from the G3X without adding a switch. I have a 2 G3X panel with screens off center to the left. For the co-pilot, the reversionary mode would be more better as it provides a better view of flight instruments.

Regards

Les

RV10 C-GCWZ sold
RV10 C-GROK flying
Reply With Quote
  #306  
Old 02-04-2020, 06:06 PM
Planecrazy232's Avatar
Planecrazy232 Planecrazy232 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Cape Coral, FL
Posts: 496
Default

Les,
The short answer is yes. I have the same situation and I have a soft key in the upper left of my MFD to switch it to PFD. PFD will then display on both screens. There?s a setting- don?t ask me how I did it though....

Quote:
Originally Posted by kearney View Post
Hi

Grounding pin 25 on the MFD d-sub connection causes reversion (duplication) of PFD flight instrumentation onto the MFD. Can this be done from the G3X without adding a switch. I have a 2 G3X panel with screens off center to the left. For the co-pilot, the reversionary mode would be more better as it provides a better view of flight instruments.

Regards

Les

RV10 C-GCWZ sold
RV10 C-GROK flying
__________________
Thanks,

Anthony

RV6-A "Aluminum Mistress"
Too many hobbies- not enough time.
2016, 2017, 2018, 2019, 2020, 2021, 2022 donor and happy to do it.
Reply With Quote
  #307  
Old 02-04-2020, 06:55 PM
rjtjrt rjtjrt is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Australia
Posts: 802
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Planecrazy232 View Post
Les,
The short answer is yes. I have the same situation and I have a soft key in the upper left of my MFD to switch it to PFD. PFD will then display on both screens. There?s a setting- don?t ask me how I did it though....
I would love to know how to do this setting.
Reply With Quote
  #308  
Old 02-04-2020, 07:47 PM
Planecrazy232's Avatar
Planecrazy232 Planecrazy232 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Cape Coral, FL
Posts: 496
Default

Check out the pilot guide page 41. It says GDU 45x or GDU 470 for this feature. I do have a 470.

Quote:
Originally Posted by rjtjrt View Post
I would love to know how to do this setting.
__________________
Thanks,

Anthony

RV6-A "Aluminum Mistress"
Too many hobbies- not enough time.
2016, 2017, 2018, 2019, 2020, 2021, 2022 donor and happy to do it.
Reply With Quote
  #309  
Old 02-05-2020, 06:00 PM
kearney kearney is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Canmore, Alberta, Canada
Posts: 64
Default G3X MFD Reversion

Thanks Anthony

..Les
Reply With Quote
  #310  
Old 02-05-2020, 07:00 PM
rjtjrt rjtjrt is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Australia
Posts: 802
Default

Anthony.
Very helpful. Thanks.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:45 PM.


The VAFForums come to you courtesy Delta Romeo, LLC. By viewing and participating in them you agree to build your plane using standardized methods and practices and to fly it safely and in accordance with the laws governing the country you are located in.