What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Dutch RV-12

dennis nl

I'm New Here
Hello
I would like to introduce myself, I am Dennis from the Netherlands. I have been a fanatic model aircraft builder and flyer for over 25 years and competed in international level for many years. A few years ago I was looking for a new challenge which I found by building an RV-12. After obtaining my pilots license I ordered a RV-12 kit which I started building at Christmas 2011, after two and a half year of building I made the first flight on August 31st. I would like to share some of my experience of building and flying the RV12 with you.
Based on my background with model aircraft I decided to modify and add many parts to my RV12.
Below are some of the changes I made.

Fairings
Most of the added parts are fairing in an attempt to reduce the drag and improve the appearance.
Fairings added are:
Horizontal stabilizer tips, to give them a rounded tip.
Between the wing and fuselage. This smoothens the junction making the rubber squeezed between the fuselage and wing invisible.
Between the fuselage and the fin. To smoothen the junction.
From the wheel covers to the fuselage. The standard lag is square which isn't the most aerodynamic efficient shape, therefore I covered the leg with a fairing that connects to the wheel cover and the fuselage, see picture below.
A vanity panel above the instrument panel to hide the canopy tubing.
Weight reduction
Next to that I have reduced the weight of many of the standard composite parts engine cowl, wheel covers, tail cone, by using sandwich composite construction. Whereby I laminated a honeycomb material in between two thin composite layers. The added thickness created by the honeycomb increases the stiffness tremendously whereby less layers of composite are needed, thereby reducing the weight. Resulting in a empty weight of 731lbs.
Elevator trim improvement