What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Should a student buy an RV

keithaloft

I'm New Here
Ok, not yet: thinking about it.
I am a student pilot. Flight schools in my area are insanely booked up, time is very hard to arrange, instructors keep getting hired away...
I am thinking of getting a plane, specifically an RV-4, and then finding a CFI to train me in it hopefully through my IFR (I'm maybe half through my private pilot training). [I'm expecting to build an RV-4 in about a year, so this has me flying, getting familiar with the plane, and having one to compare/contrast with as I build perhaps).
Things I've already thought of (and have begun researching):
Confirm capabilities/condition of plane. Get professional opinions. This is pretty important ;-)
What's the insurance going to run? Other expenses?
Try to find CFI's that might be interested in this arrangement, and get an idea of their price and availability.
I realize there's a possibility to lose an amount of money in this process that one couldn't lose through a flight school approach... that's not trivial to me, but it's just one consideration.
If I tie it down and cover it (there are no hangars in my universe), is that okay?
Thoughts & ideas welcome.
Thanks!
Keith

Please rethink this..........

RV-4 is NOT a good selection for primary instruction. For primary instruction you will need COMPLETE dual controls. Most RV-4s do not have rear cockpit rudder pedals, and even the ones that do, do not have rear cockpit brakes.

The instructor from the rear seat cannot see what you are doing. I doubt seriously that any instructor would consider this arrangement. And if he/she did, I would not consider that instructor.