VansAirForceForums  
Home > VansAirForceForums

-POSTING RULES
-Advertise in here!
- Today's Posts | Insert Pics

Keep VAF Going
Donate methods

Point your
camera app here
to donate fast.

  #1  
Old 09-18-2008, 11:10 PM
mike109g6 mike109g6 is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Shepherdsville, KY
Posts: 280
Default Carb: Throttle Arm

Have a MS-3SP carb on my lyco. Using throttle quadrant with threaded cables. I can get full extention(open), but I can't get full close, about 1/4" left in throttle arm swing to achieve complete closure(to close butterfly). Quadrant arm not interfering with clevis on cable. Good enough? Suggestions if not.
Thanks in advance,
Mike H 9A/8A
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-19-2008, 12:03 AM
osxuser's Avatar
osxuser osxuser is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Pasadena CA
Posts: 2,486
Default

I'd say probably not good enough, but you'll need to be able to run to be sure. Either way, it'd be better to go stop to stop. Is it in the middle hole or the bottom hole? The middle hole will provide a shorter throw for the same amount of butterfly movement.
__________________
Stephen Samuelian, CFII, A&P IA, CTO
RV4 wing in Jig @ KPOC
RV7 emp built
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-19-2008, 01:16 AM
mike109g6 mike109g6 is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Shepherdsville, KY
Posts: 280
Default Throttle arm

Quote:
Originally Posted by osxuser View Post
I'd say probably not good enough, but you'll need to be able to run to be sure. Either way, it'd be better to go stop to stop. Is it in the middle hole or the bottom hole? The middle hole will provide a shorter throw for the same amount of butterfly movement.
Middle hole. Have tried just about everything except reset the 'close' throttle stop screw which is adjustable. Just can't figure out how I can get both ends of the movement to work out. If cable set for close 1/4" short of full open, same in reverse. Just can't get my head around it. Use to rig giant scale RC all the time without any problems-but this has me baffled.
Figured full throttle better than, full close and not full throttle. If I could(but I don't think that I should) I would reset the position of the throttle arm on the butterfly spindle and the problem would be solved.
Thanks,
Mike H 9A/8A
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-19-2008, 09:19 AM
osxuser's Avatar
osxuser osxuser is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Pasadena CA
Posts: 2,486
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mike109g6 View Post
Middle hole. Have tried just about everything except reset the 'close' throttle stop screw which is adjustable. Just can't figure out how I can get both ends of the movement to work out. If cable set for close 1/4" short of full open, same in reverse. Just can't get my head around it. Use to rig giant scale RC all the time without any problems-but this has me baffled.
Figured full throttle better than, full close and not full throttle. If I could(but I don't think that I should) I would reset the position of the throttle arm on the butterfly spindle and the problem would be solved.
Thanks,
Mike H 9A/8A
Actually, there is nothing wrong with resetting the arm angle as long as it doesn't interfere with anything on the outside.
__________________
Stephen Samuelian, CFII, A&P IA, CTO
RV4 wing in Jig @ KPOC
RV7 emp built
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-19-2008, 12:12 PM
tc1234c's Avatar
tc1234c tc1234c is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Port Orange, FL
Posts: 1,020
Default Throttle cable throw

There were several threads on this topic. Here is one:

http://www.vansairforce.com/communit...eferrerid=4357
__________________
Ted Chang, VAF #681
RV-9A #91048, flying since 8/2006. 2,050 hrs.

2018 Due paid
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-24-2008, 07:36 PM
mike109g6 mike109g6 is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Shepherdsville, KY
Posts: 280
Default Carb Throttle Arm/Cable

Got with Bill R and with his suggestion, instead of the middle hole on the throttle arm I attached the throttle quadrant cable to the uppermost hole in the arm. Works like a dream. Perfect. Throttle lever does not bottom out in full close or full open, just like it is meant to do, yet have FULL close and FULL open on the carb(against the stops).
Thanks Bill,
Mike H 9A/8A
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:41 PM.


The VAFForums come to you courtesy Delta Romeo, LLC. By viewing and participating in them you agree to build your plane using standardized methods and practices and to fly it safely and in accordance with the laws governing the country you are located in.