What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

New Builder Acquiring Tools

pstarbard

I'm New Here
Hi All,

I'm guessing this is an often repeated post so, my apology in advance. I'm a new prospective builder and have just ordered the practice kits (tool box and control surface example). I need to order the tools to complete these projects and would then plan to add the additional tools needed to build the aircraft. I'm looking for best-practices in acquiring tools (sources, places to find used tools). Thanks in advance for any guidance on this.

Thank you,
Al

Tools

Hi All,

I'm guessing this is an often repeated post so, my apology in advance. I'm a new prospective builder and have just ordered the practice kits (tool box and control surface example). I need to order the tools to complete these projects and would then plan to add the additional tools needed to build the aircraft. I'm looking for best-practices in acquiring tools (sources, places to find used tools). Thanks in advance for any guidance on this.

Thank you,
Al

Official welcome should arrive soon. Till then, welcome.
Yep. Tons of threads. Might want to search a little.
I got lucky and bought my starter tools used. 1/2 price.
Most seem to like Cleveland, Isham, Aircraft Tools. Cleveland is best.
Wedgelock clekos are best.
Decide on C-Frame vs DRDT
Pneumatic vs manual squeezer
2x vs 3x
Tungsten bars rock.
I have a spreadsheet on my blog. Basic Builded log. One tab is every tool I own.

Ahhh, there it is, the Welcome. Now to tools.

I got Avery, the equivalent today is likely Cleaveland. Avery still operates his machine shop (I think) and makes tools, but does not assemble kits.