What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Oshkosh Rental Car -- hold on to your wallet

chrispratt

Well Known Member
I've been renting a car in Oshkosh for the past 8 years usually from Hertz. In 2012 my charge for a full size car for a week was $320. In 2013 it was $506 (using my Hertz #1 Club Gold card). I called Hertz today and was quoted $1,350. Huh? No discounts, no Hertz#1 accepted. Nothing. And it's not like you're getting good service to begin with; after all they don't even like to be open on the weekend.

Anybody have an alternative source or a different (less expensive) experience? I stay at a B&B in town so need some wheels to get back and forth, but between $5/gal gas, the car and the room, Osh is looking less and less attractive. And no, I don't camp :)

Chris

I recommend the dorms. We camped until one year, two nights in a row I was awakened by wicked thunder and lightning. Not for me!! We enjoy the dorms and the cafeteria is very good. Shuttle runs you back and forth. U of Wisconsin is only two miles away.

Last edited:
If you fly into OSH and stay at the dorms, you can buy a week-long bus pass which is by far the easiest and cheapest way to get around.

If you fly into one of the major airports (like I did last time), forget the $100/day car rental. I reserved a U-Haul pickup truck for the week. It cost me $19.95/day plus mileage. The whole week was only about $225 including the gas from Milwaukee to Oshkosh and back.

Check Craigs List

Check Craigs List for the area. I'm sure you can rent a car from a private party for a few C notes. Cash speaks!!!

The cat's out of the bag!

I reserved a U-Haul pickup truck for the week. It cost me $19.95/day plus mileage. The whole week was only about $225 including the gas from Milwaukee to Oshkosh and back.

Man, Craig, now the Milwaukee U-Haul place is gonna run out of pickup trucks that week! :rolleyes: