What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

proseal hardening time

jwilbur

Well Known Member
I'm just getting started with proseal. All my fears have been justified....

How long is it supposed to take for the stuff to harden?

Temps in my area have been mostly in the 40's through 60's over the past week and the proseal I mixed last weekend is still tacky. I can touch it and see my fingerprints. Last week I mixed it with a scale at 10:1 and then after application wet my finger with MEK and touched it to get it to flow a bit and make a nice smooth surface.

Your doing fine. At those temps it may take a couple weeks to fully cure, or longer.

Last edited:
Follow up question: Mixing

Thanks. That helps.

Another question I have is mixing this goop. The first issue is getting the stuff out of the can and putting it some surface. I have to be careful when I add the hardener not to contaminate the can if I have to go back for a second scoop. As a result, the white stuff and the black stuff is seperated from each other on the surface. Then drag them both to the center and deal with a smear of white/black on either side of the surface and do my best to mix it all up to include the black/white smears. I've tried a dixie cup as the mixing surface, a splotch of butcher paper, a disposable plastic container and all I can say is each one is slightly worse than the other. In the end half the stuff I mix gets wasted because it's just stuck and smeared all over the surface of my mixing substrate.

Advice/suggestions please?

Thanks,

Can't help you there. I used the 3.5 oz "mix in the tube" pro seal from Vans. Had a bit left over that got chucked, but it was easy.

Home made balance helped mixing process

I made a 10 to 1 balance for Proseal that worked great. At the end of the quart of white stuff, I was at the end of the black stuff. This was after mixing many small batches.