What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Redundant Power Systems Architecture

BoilermakerRV

Well Known Member
Would any of you using dual alternators or dual batteries be willing to share your system architecture? I'm laying out and analyzing a few different options and would appreciate the input of those who have gone before me. The questions I can think of right now are:

1) Is there such a thing as a dual alternator controller?
2) How do you detect a failure of one of the alternators\batteries?
3) What provisions, if any, do you have for power shedding in the event of a failure?

Thanks in advance!

I'm no expert, but I just went through the thought process myself. I decided to go with the Aeroelectrics Z13-8R
Z13-8R.pdf

I am powering my EFII and G3X (Essentials to flight) off the EBus. I used a 2-10 switch for Master and Alt (down off, middle master, up master and alt) and a 2-10 for the next switch over for Ebus and Aux Alt (down off, middle Ebus, up Ebus and aux alt). Normal ops will be with the Ebus on (aux alt off) that way if a power failure to either the main bus or batt bus happens my Ebus will stay powered continuously.
Failure of the main Alt will be set by a low voltage alarm on the G3X, at which point I will switch my Aux Alt switch up to keep power to the Ebus and turn on the Aux Alt. If I want to load shed I just turn the master off.
I was originally going to go with the IBBS backup battery but at only 4 amp/hr it powers G3x for a little over 30 min. If I power my EFII as well its even less time. For about $300 more I can have 8 amps as long as my engine is running and I don't have to worry about battery maintence/service/replacement.