What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

pitot-static fittings question

Lars

Well Known Member
Sponsor
I am in the process of plumbing my pitot-static system. I'm using the instant tube fittings (AKA push-to-connect, one-touch, etc) like Stein sells. I have extensive experience with them in everything from dirty industrial environments to off road racing to clean room vacuum conditions, and I'm confident that they are a good choice for this application. I didn't buy them from Stein because I've accumulated enough in my stash (all of mine are from Legris) over the years that I could plumb several airplanes. I'm also using high-quality (Parker) nylon tubing.

I know Paul Dye likes them, and has posted about his use of them here with positive remarks. One of the reasons I considered them in the first place.

It's looking like I may get my contraption flying in 2012, and so I started wondering if a DAR will give me grief for using them. I've never seen them on a certified plane, but I haven't looked under the panels of any new certified airplanes lately.

Thoughts?

If your DAR is familiar with RVs, he shouldn't have any problems with them, especially since a very large share of RVs out there flying today are successfully using these kinds of fittings and lines.

If an inspector or Fed mentions it, simply ask him for a TSO or ANY rule that spec's out pitot static fittings or tubing or couplers or plumbing or ports, etc..

I went in circles with a couple FSDO's who claimed we had to use certified fittings until they realized after I asked for the relevant TSO they could produce no such thing....their response...."it's one of those gray areas" and it was left at that.

Cheers,
Stein

Hey Lars!