What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Sell me on the RV-4

Doyle231

hi all,

been awhile since I've posted on here. long story short, I'm an engineer who currently owns a nice little c150 and am having a ball flying it but have the speed itch already! i don't want to invest $100k into an rv8/7 when i can have a fast back 180hp c/s rv4 with james cowls etc (idea is to build a 180hp rocket) for much less, I'm 70kg at most and my mrs is 55kg, both short and would love to start building a speed machine. will/would i regret building the rv4 over an 8? my only concern is back seat weight limits of the rv4 and build time. I'm in the best possible position to build that anyone could be in by working for an airline with access to all the tools etc an rv builder could want plus help from fellow engineers! any help would be great!!

James

Quick thoughts:
  1. Building an RV-4 will not cost much less than an RV-8 (~$5K in kit cost)
  2. The RV-4 when built, will be worth much less than an RV-8
  3. Build Time/Complexity of the RV-4 will far exceed that of the RV-8
I am not avoiding "selling" you on an RV-4, but I think you should go for the RV-4 on it's own (flying) merits, not an comparative costs to the RV7/8 ;)

Ditto Andy! I'm a definite -4 LOVER; but one needs to be practical. Andy makes very valid points.
Best to you in whichever you decide upon.

I totally agree with Andy's points. Especially, if you intend to do the mods that you mentioned, it will require some additional build time. But it will give you a very efficient airplane, and a sexy looking too!

I totally agree with Andy's post.
I own an RV8 and my instructor an RV4. I love the handling of the 4 compared to the 8. Lighter stick forces, slightly higher roll rate and you feel that the 4 is lighter than the 8.
I think the choice you will make should take into consideration your mission.